My Familiar Hero – Day Fourteen of NaPoWriMo


My Familiar Hero
by Jay Crider

Wake up wake up
time for coffee
time to feed me

Clean sweep
of affections
then a quick
bite

Thorough bath
and some how
a power nap

morning devotions
leave a traceable
scent.

whether you work
if you do not
my endearment
prevails.

Faithfulness I deliver
Though my name screams it
A Sissy I am not.

I offer
emotional healing,
I steal the breath of death
before it can try.

I am here for you
writer of life
Your Companion,
hero, familiar.

Leave a Reply

